Working together to build a brighter future

With a focus on youth development, healthy living and social responsibility, Y volunteers give men, women and children of all ages and from all walks of life the resources and support they need to be healthy, confident, connected and secure.

Volunteers of the Y's Board of Directors

  • Lead our boards of directors and committees
  • Raise funds to ensure the Y is accessible to all members of the community
  • Coach our sports teams and teach many of our classes
  • Motivate and support youth in building the character strengths, skills and relationships that lead to positive behaviors, better health, smart life choices and the pursuit of higher education and goals
  • Extend a hand to help adults who want to do more, be more or live healthier
  • Advocate for the Y’s efforts to influence policies and initiatives that positively impact societal issues of importance to the nation, and your community
  • Participate in opportunities to give back and support neighbors

2021 ECYMCA Board of Directors

John Melling, Chief Volunteer Officer, SIA Group
Thomas Monte, 1st Vice Chair, Carr Riggs Ingram, LLC
Karen Yaeck, 2nd Vice Chair, CarolinaEast Health Systems
Don Brinkley, Treasurer, Union Bank 
Kyle Dickerson, Secretary, Sumrell Sugg, Attorneys at Law
Shannon Adcock, United Bank
Royce Bennett, Century 21 Champion
Todd Burrier, Business Owner
Meghan Doyle, Retired
Pat Drake, Retired
Dave Haidt, Ayers & Haidt
Carr Ipock, Craven County Board of Education
Bill McCrea, Tryon Palace
Carolyn Peacock, Peacock Family Law
Jeff Quinn, SIA Group
John Pierce, Clergy
Billy Sewell, Platinum Corral
Steve Wangerin, Coastal Bank & Trust         

2021 New River YMCA Advisory Board

Billy Sewell, Chairman, Platinum Corral
Steve Wangerin, Treasurer, Coastal Bank & Trust

Royce Bennett, Century 21 Champion Real Estate
Joel Churchwell, Pastor
Brett DeSelms, Mewborn & DeSelms
Bob Dickerson, Marine Federal Credit Union
Michael Lazzara, Vital Signs
Steve Myers, Onslow County Schools
BJ Richards, Coastal Carolina Orthopedics
Patsy Schneider, Recreation Branch Head - Semper Fit Division MCCAS Lejeune-New River
Rachel Sholar, McNamara, Lycans & Sholar
Erin Tallman, Onslow Memorial Hospital
Lee Ann Thomas, Onslow Memorial Hospital
Deunta Williams, Business Owner/Athlete
Mike Yaniero, Director of Public Safety